Common Ground.

This blog will be a place where all are welcome. While the topic will vary, what will remain consistent is the free exploration of ideas and all the different ways we perceive the world around us. On this blog there is no need to hide, to lie, or to try and be someone else. Ideally, I would like this to be a place where we can talk with each other without any lies, deception, sarcasms, exaggerations or any of the other things people use to confuse the truth.

I love philosophy, and I love politics, so many of my thoughts revolve around these two topics. While I do spend much of my time on these topics I am eager to explore a variety of other topics as long as the conversation remains productive,  interesting, or at the very least enjoyable.

On the topic of conversation, I would like you to consider a word that I think is often misunderstood. Argument. I find most people I encounter to believe this word to have a negative connotation. This is not an interpretation I agree with. I very much enjoy a good argument. I find I gain understanding, and achieve personal growth more so with a good argument with someone who disagrees with me than I do almost anywhere else. So in this blog I encourage you to argue with each other and myself as a mater of practice. Even if it is just to play devils advocate.

There is nothing I find more gratifying than, after a long and fruitful argument, to come upon a new truth. At the end of the day, if I am proven right or wrong, if I have discovered the truth, I am happy. I believe to have false beliefs to be not only undesirable, but also dangerous. I am in a life long quest to shed all of my false beliefs, because to have false beliefs limits and hinders me as a person and as a human being. I want this to be a venue where together we can explore ideas, and discover new truths, or reaffirm old truths.

While I think arguments are a positive force, the overall belief that it is negative often brings out the worst in people. It is my hope that we can argue productively, but remain civil while doing so. I am very often guilty of violating these rules but I am always trying to improve. It is my hope that while writing and discussing various topics with others that I will continue to evolve and improve my ability to argue points of intellectual merit, and to set aside my ego and leave personal observations of the people presenting said ideas aside.

Leave a Reply

